@basjanader_#I´mtstty

Mixed-media installation, size variabel, 2013 - 2014

The installation “@basjanader_#I’mtstty” thematise the youtube-karaoke phenomenon. I created an archive of video remakes and responses from the Bas Jan Ader Film “I’m too sad to tell you” from 1971. The collection of the audiovisual and textual material discusses the “copy culture” in the internet, as well as the attemps of communication within the internet. In 2007 I reenacted the film of Bas Jan Ader and put it on youtube. My work actualizes the theme of Aders Film under todays media envi- ronment. After the years I realized that more and more video responses of Bas Jan Aders film were present on video platforms in the internet. The archive “@basjanader_#i’mtstty” is a collection of the audiovisual and textual material of these remakes.

In the first exhibition of the work in the gallery EIGEN + ART Leipzig the archive were presented in an archive rack. In this set-up the different layers of the rack are moveable and allow the viewer to play around with the items of this installation.

@basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt

Installationviews Gallery EIGEN + ART Leipzig

In the second exhibition at CYNETART - Festival Dresden the focus was shifted onto the visual impression of the videos. Behind the video wall there was a desktop with 18 DVD-Player and the 71 archived videos as DVDs. In this installation the viewer was invited to change the DVDs and create his own compilation.

@basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt

Installationviews CYNETART-Festival, Festspielhaus Dresden-Hellerau

The version at Academy of Visual Arts Leipzig was a soundinstallation. 35 speakers were set to sound the 76 user-comments on youtube which were post to the Film of Bas Jan Ader.This installation creates with the spatial translation of the communication in the internet an attention to the user comments.

@basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt

Installationviews Academy of Visual Arts Leipzig

@basjanader_#i´mtstty

Intermediale Arbeit, Größe variabel

Die Arbeit @basjanader_#I’mtstty beschäftigt sich mit dem Phänomen der YouTube-Karaoken. Sven Bergelt legte ein Archiv von Videonachahmungen von Bas Jan Aders Film I’m too sad to tell you an. Die Sammlung des audiovisuellen und textlichen Materials thematisiert die Kultur des Kopierens im Internet sowie deren Möglichkeiten der Kommunikation. 2007 reenactete Sven Bergelt den Film von Bas Jan Ader und präsentierte diesem im Internet. Sein Video aktualisierte die Thematik von Aders Film unter heutigen medialen Bedingungen. Über die Jahre kamen mehr und mehr Videonachahmungen von Bas Jan Aders Film hinzu. Das Archiv @basjanader_#I’mtstty ist eine Zusammenführung dieser Nachahmungen. Das archivierte Material wird bei jeder Ausstellung neu arrangiert, um den Gedanken eines prozessualen Archivs zu verdeutlichen.

In der ersten Ausstellung der Arbeit in der Galerie EIGEN + ART Leipzig wurde das Archiv in dem Archivgitter der Galerie präsentiert. Die verschiedenen Ebenen des Gitters konnten durch die Betrachter verschoben werden.

@basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt

Installationsansichten Galerie EIGEN+ART Leipzig

Bei der Präsentation der Arbeit auf dem CYNETART - Festival lag der Fokus auf der Visualität des Materials. Auf der Rückseite der Videowand war ein Schreibtisch mit 18 DVD-Playern und den 71 archivierten Videos auf DVD zu sehen. Für den Betrachter bestand die Möglichkeit die DVDs zu wechseln und so seine individuelle Zusammenstellung anzulegen.

@basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt

Installationsansichten CYNETART-Festival, Festspielhaus Dresden-Hellerau

In der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig wurde die Arbeit als Soundinstallation präsentiert. Zentraler Bestandteil sind die vertonten Userkommentare zu dem Original-Film von Bas Jan Ader auf YouTube. Diese treten in Korrespondenz zu der Textbeschreibung des Filmes.

@basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt @basjanader_#i´mtstty, Sven Bergelt

Installationsansicht Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig